The Only Hope I Have

God’s love and mercy never fail;
They’re fresh as every brand-new day,
Sure as every sunrise.
God helps those who place their trust in Him
He is the only hope I have.

I know how it feels to be punished by the Lord,
Locked in His prison, with no hope for release,
Thrown into such darkness that each day seems like the night,
And choked by the poison of my own bitter thoughts.

Then in my depression, hope returned.

God’s love and mercy never fail;
They’re fresh as every brand-new day,
Sure as every sunrise.
God helps those who place their trust in Him
He is the only hope I have.

About This Song:
The really depressing part of “The Only Hope I Have” is based on Lamentations 3:1-18. I’m including only verses 7-9 here, but take my word for it (better yet, look it up yourself in the Bible), the rest of it is depressing, too…
He has walled me in so I cannot escape; he has weighed me down with chains.
Even when I call out or cry for help, he shuts out my prayer.
He has barred my way with blocks of stone; he has made my paths crooked.
(NIV)

The transition from depression to hopeful comes in Lamentations 3:19-21…
19 I remember my affliction and my wandering, the bitterness and the gall.
20 I well remember them, and my soul is downcast within me.
21 Yet this I call to mind and therefore I have hope:
(NIV)

When hope comes in this passage, it’s like a blackened sky that fireworks have suddenly brightened like daylight. Here are verses 22-25…
22 Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail.
23 They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.
24 I say to myself, “The Lord is my portion; therefore I will wait for him.”
25 The Lord is good to those whose hope is in him,  to the one who seeks him;
(NIV)

All of us go through tough times, and I doubt that many of us have been totally free of depression. Depression can be crippling. Dangerously so at times.

Don’t some of us tend to blame God for the bad things in life?  Although God is big enough to listen to those accusations without growing angry, He’s really not to blame.

The free will God endowed each of us with has resulted in sin, and sin has brought about suffering and death.

But no matter how deep we sink into depression, those of us who’ve become God’s children through faith in Jesus Christ still have hope. If we examine God’s Word closely, we find all kinds of promises God has made to provide for His children.

He may not do it in our time or our choice of ways, but He’s always faithful.

What earthly father fails to provide what’s best for his children? That sometimes means allowing them to suffer the results of bad decisions and wrong words and actions.

Can’t we expect even more from our Heavenly Father and put our hope in Him to fulfill His promises?

 

    

Links you might be interested in:

Look for me again next Wednesday. Better still, subscribe to receive these weekly posts by email.

Best regards,
Roger

 

 

About Roger E. Bruner

Roger Bruner worked as a teacher, job counselor, and programmer analyst before retiring to write Christian fiction full-time. A guitarist and songwriter, he is active in his church choir, church praise team, and nursing home ministry. Roger also enjoys reading, web design, mission trips, photography, and spending time with his wonderful wife, Kathleen. Roger’s young adult novels, Found in Translation and Lost in Dreams, came out in 2011. The Devil and Pastor Gus just came out, and he has eight unpublished manuscripts.
This entry was posted in Depression, God's Promises, God's Provision, Hope, Lamentations, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

