Roadmap & Compass

Before I start a journey to a
Place I’ve never been before,
I get out the road map and
I plan how best to get there.

But life’s a different type of trip;
The map’s not mine to look at.
I don’t know where Heaven is,
But God will help me find it.

I’m attracted to God’s love
Like a compass to magnetic north;
God knows where I ought to go;
I’ll follow close behind Him.

Life’s a different type of trip;
The map’s not mine to look at.
I don’t know where Heaven is,
But God will help me find it.

Sometimes I get distracted by the
Things this world considers good.
God comes close, His love calls fresh,
And I resume my journey.

Life’s a different type of trip;
The map’s not mine to look at.
I don’t know where Heaven is,
But God will help me find it.

About This Song:
Thank goodness everybody doesn’t use a GPS to find the way to their destinations. Else the words to this song might seem as dated as the reference to trains in some of the old Johnny Cash songs I still enjoy listening to.

Where is Heaven? Is it in some dimension we can’t enter or be part of until we die? Hard to say.

Hard? It’s impossible. No one on earth knows.

Maybe that’s why I’ve used the same idea in “I Believe It!” The third verse of that song says, “Heaven is the home of God; He shares it with believers, though moving there takes a lifetime to do. I cannot claim to tell you just where Heaven is located, but–day by day–I long to see it more.”

God gave us the Bible as the instruction manual for righteous living. But it doesn’t give us step by step instructions for the trip to Heaven. Instead, it tells us that our faith in Jesus is enough to get us there.

The closer we follow His leading, the better. But that doesn’t mean we won’t get distracted and make some wrong turns along the way. When we do, we must draw closer to Him, for He alone knows the way.

Are you on the way to Heaven? Are you counting on God to lead you there? You’ll never be good enough to make it on your own, you know.

 

rosagus

Subscribe to Roger’s quarterly newsletter:


Links you might be interested in:

I’ll be back again next Wednesday.

Best regards,
Roger

About Roger E. Bruner

Roger Bruner worked as a teacher, job counselor, and programmer analyst before retiring to write Christian fiction full-time. A guitarist and songwriter, he is active in his church choir, church praise team, and nursing home ministry. Roger also enjoys reading, web design, mission trips, photography, and spending time with his wonderful wife, Kathleen. Roger’s young adult novels, Found in Translation and Lost in Dreams, came out in 2011. The Devil and Pastor Gus just came out, and he has eight unpublished manuscripts.
This entry was posted in Attraction, Compass, Guidance, Heaven, Magnetic North, Road Map, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

