I Don’t Show that I Trust Him

I know that this is a chair;
I believe that it can hold me.
But till I put my weight on it,
I don’t show that I trust it.

I know that this is a plane;
I believe that it can fly me.
But till I board to go some place,
I don’t show that I trust it.

I know that this is a pill;
I believe that it can cure me.
But till I put it in my mouth,
I don’t show that I trust it.

I know that this is a map;
I believe that it can guide me.
But till I plan a trip with it,
I don’t show that I trust it.

I know that this is God’s Word;
I believe that it can fill me.
But till I read and feed on it,
I don’t show that I trust it.

I know that Christ is God’s Son.
I believe that He can save me.
But till I let Him live in me,
I don’t show that I trust Him.
Till I let Him live in me,
I don’t show that I trust Him.

About This Song:
Most people are familiar with the old story about the tightrope walker preparing to walk across Niagara Falls. He asked, “How many people believe I can make it all the way across?” Everyone in the crowd raised their hands.

“And,” he added, “who’s willing to ride on my back?”

No takers.

Hmm. And why not? Not one among those hundreds of people who said they believed this guy could make it across Niagara on a tightrope actually had enough faith to put their lives in his hands.

Aren’t we like that at times, too? We say we believe God is able to do anything and everything. We believe He wants to provide for us and take care of us.

But when something is going wrong, how often do we rely on ourselves when we should be relying on God?

Unless we put our faith into practice, it’s useless.

What about you? Do you simply believe God is Who He says He is–even the Devil believes that–or are you willing to place your life totally in His hands? How about leaving a comment?

~*~

Links you might be interested in:

I’ll be back again next Wednesday.

Best regards,
Roger

 

About Roger E. Bruner

Roger Bruner worked as a teacher, job counselor, and programmer analyst before retiring to write Christian fiction full-time. A guitarist and songwriter, he is active in his church choir, church praise team, and nursing home ministry. Roger also enjoys reading, web design, mission trips, photography, and spending time with his wonderful wife, Kathleen. Roger’s young adult novels, Found in Translation and Lost in Dreams, came out in 2011. The Devil and Pastor Gus just came out, and he has eight unpublished manuscripts.
This entry was posted in Chair, Faith, Niagara Falls, Pill, Plane, Tightrope Walker, Trust and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

