Trust in the Lord

Trust in the Lord
With all of your heart.
Don’t rely on your own modest wisdom.
Seek to follow His will,
Wherever it leads,
For His path is straight,
And His way is sure.

About This Song:
When I started this blog to share my song lyrics, I never promised that everything would be poetic or complex. Whatever beauty these lyrics have is the beauty of the Scripture they’re based on.

While working at the International Mission Board, the first thing I did when I arrived each day was to pick up the A.M. Adviser, a daily information sheet. Each issue contained a verse or two of Scripture. One day in 1994 the Adviser quoted Proverbs 3:5-6:
Trust in the Lord with all your heart
    and lean not on your own understanding;
in all your ways submit to him,
    and he will make your paths straight.
(NIV)

Although I was already familiar with those verses, they spoke to me that day as never before, and I started to mull them over.

I normally had company on my lunchtime two-mile walk, but that day I walked by myself. Thoughts about those two verses bubbled up to form not only the lyrics but a very definite melody–one that struck me as a keeper.

Working out the melody for a new song normally takes days. Often weeks. But this one took less than an hour.

I had access to a guitar at work, so I jotted down the notes when I returned from walking. Remembering that tune for thirty or forty minutes was one thing, but I didn’t want to chance forgetting it before I got home.

Since then, I’ve added a descant that makes it a little nicer. If you’re musically inclined, please look at the free lead sheet for this song and see what you think.

~*~

Links you might be interested in:

I’ll be back again next Wednesday.

Best regards,
Roger

About Roger E. Bruner

Roger Bruner worked as a teacher, job counselor, and programmer analyst before retiring to write Christian fiction full-time. A guitarist and songwriter, he is active in his church choir, church praise team, and nursing home ministry. Roger also enjoys reading, web design, mission trips, photography, and spending time with his wonderful wife, Kathleen. Roger’s young adult novels, Found in Translation and Lost in Dreams, came out in 2011. The Devil and Pastor Gus just came out, and he has eight unpublished manuscripts.
This entry was posted in Faith, Limitations, Proverbs, Trust, Understanding and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

