Quench My Thirst, Lord

Quench my thirst, Lord;
Fill my life with things that always satisfy.
Take away my penchant for
Those things that always leave me dry.

Take my doubt, fill me with faith.
Take my dread, fill me with hope.
Take my fear, fill me with peace.
Quench my thirst, Lord.

Take my dark, fill me with light.
Take my cold, fill me with warmth.
Take my greed, fill me with care.
Quench my thirst, Lord.

Take my mask, fill me with truth.
Take my wrongs, fill me with right.
Take my self, fill me with You.
Quench my thirst, Lord.

About This Song:
Do you recall a time you were really thirsty? I mean “about to pass out thirsty.”

I experienced one of those times some years ago while having fun at Kings Dominion (an amusement park near Richmond). I was so out-of-it I barely knew what I was doing, and I wasn’t even up to asking anyone for help. Being there by myself didn’t help.

My next question is what you drank when you were that thirsty. Water, juice, a soft drink?

Not a soft drink, I hope. From what I’ve been told, caffeine dehydrates the body. It might quench your thirst temporarily, but it won’t restore lost water to your body.

Often–too often–we fill ourselves with things that appear harmless. Things we think won’t hurt us. We may even gorge ourselves on those things without realizing it.

But in the end, they not only don’t satisfy us, they harm us.

My prayer for you today is that if you’re filling up on any of the negative things listed in “Quench My Thirst” you’ll pray for God to quench whatever you’re really thirsting for with whatever He knows is best and wants you to have.

~*~

Links you might be interested in:

I’ll be back again next Wednesday.

Best regards,
Roger

About Roger E. Bruner

Roger Bruner worked as a teacher, job counselor, and programmer analyst before retiring to write Christian fiction full-time. A guitarist and songwriter, he is active in his church choir, church praise team, and nursing home ministry. Roger also enjoys reading, web design, mission trips, photography, and spending time with his wonderful wife, Kathleen. Roger’s young adult novels, Found in Translation and Lost in Dreams, came out in 2011. The Devil and Pastor Gus just came out, and he has eight unpublished manuscripts.
This entry was posted in Quench, Satisfaction, Thirst and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

