Is It Me, Lord?

Is it me, Lord? Is it me, Lord?
Is it me, Lord, who’ll carry Your cross on a Sunday,
But betray You with a kiss on Monday?

Is it me, Lord? Is it me, Lord?
Is it me, Lord, who walks on the water on Sunday,
But sinks to the bottom on Monday?

Is it me, Lord? Is it me, Lord?
Is it me, Lord, who’s concerned about the lost on Sunday,
But let ’em go to the devil on Monday?

Is it me, Lord? Is it me, Lord?
Is it me, Lord, who’ll bear Your burdens on Sunday,
But who doesn’t know Your name on Monday?

About This Song:
“Is It Me, Lord?” brings to mind the reaction of Jesus’ disciples at the Last Supper after He announced that one of them was going to betray Him.

It’s interesting that eleven of the twelve disciples had no intention of betraying their Lord and Savior. I’m guessing that each of them simply wanted confirmation that he wasn’t going to betray Jesus unintentionally.

Simon Peter didn’t realize that he would end up betraying Jesus by denying he knew Jesus later that same evening. Neither did the other disciples realize they would betray Him by running away like the scared-est of scared rabbits when faced with danger, and one disciple (believed to be John) barely escaped–without his clothes, which got torn off in the pursuit.

Are we Christians any better? We may not betray Jesus the way Judas Iscariot did. Or even the way Simon Peter did. But don’t we fail Him in a number of significant ways?

I admit it. I do.

And that makes God’s love and forgiveness all the more special. I need not live with the guilt for what I’ve done or failed to do. I can accept God’s offer of a second chance and move forward, keeping my eyes more completely on Him and growing in my desire to please Him and not myself.

Have you ever let Jesus down? Have you sought His forgiveness? And have you forgiven yourself?

~*~

Links you might be interested in:

I’ll be back again next Wednesday.

Best regards,
Roger

 

About Roger E. Bruner

Roger Bruner worked as a teacher, job counselor, and programmer analyst before retiring to write Christian fiction full-time. A guitarist and songwriter, he is active in his church choir, church praise team, and nursing home ministry. Roger also enjoys reading, web design, mission trips, photography, and spending time with his wonderful wife, Kathleen. Roger’s young adult novels, Found in Translation and Lost in Dreams, came out in 2011. The Devil and Pastor Gus just came out, and he has eight unpublished manuscripts.
This entry was posted in Betrayal, Cross, Devil, Forgiveness, Guilt, Judas Iscariot, Lord's Supper, Simon Peter, Water and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is It Me, Lord?

  1. Noelene says:

    Thank you for this reminder that no matter what we have done Jesus forgives us as soon as we confess that wrongdoing to Him.
    That is one of the most challenging things I face in my life – being able to forgive myself!

  2. That’s one of my biggest challenges, too. And even when I think I’ve forgiven myself, I have trouble forgetting about what I’ve done.

Leave a Reply

