You’re the Railing

Lord, You’re the railing that we cling to,
Climbing up the steep stair steps of life.
Although we pretend to be surefooted,
You know how easily we fall.

As we climb life’s steps we cling to You.
As we climb life’s steps we cling to You.
As we climb life’s steps we cling to You
That we may not fall.

Rarely do falls bring tears of laughter;
Usually they cause us tears of pain.
Lord, You know that we’re weak and fragile.
We must cling to You so we won’t fall.

As we climb life’s steps we cling to You.
As we climb life’s steps we cling to You.
As we climb life’s steps we cling to You
That we may not fall.

Lord, You know all our limitations;
We can’t even see the stairs ahead.
But we know by faith You have no boundaries;
You see far above, beneath, beyond.

As we climb life’s steps we cling to You.
As we climb life’s steps we cling to You.
As we climb life’s steps we cling to You
That we may not fall.

Lord, all around are those who’re falling,
Toppling backwards from their heavy loads.
Help us each to take one hand in our hand
And show them just Who THE RAILING is.

As we climb life’s steps we cling to You.
As we climb life’s steps we cling to You.
As we climb life’s steps we cling to You
That we may not fall.

About This Song:
I don’t know about you, but I’d like to believe I’m in control of my life. At almost seventy, however, I’m smart enough to know I’m not. I’m fragile and anything but sure-footed, both literally and symbolically.

I believe life is very much like a steep set of stairs–so steep I can’t see more than a step or two above me as I climb.

So trying to live life on my own–without God’s help–is like trying to climb those steps without holding onto the railing. How easily I can fall backwards.

But God is not only a sure support, He’s the only one who sees the steps I can’t see. He knows the problems I’ll face. He knows the dangers. Clinging to Him as a railing doesn’t guarantee that I won’t fall, but at least I’ll have the assistance of the only one who can help me up again, no matter how badly I’m hurt.

Holding on to the railing only takes one hand, though. That leaves one hand free. As a Christian I need to keep that hand ready  to extend to someone else who’s groping for safety.

While I can’t lead that person’s life any better than I can lead my own, I can at least point him or her  to my Lord and Savior.

Do you ever feel as if you’re falling down life’s stairs? Do you depend on God’s help? How about sharing a comment?

~*~

Links you might be interested in:

I’ll be back again next Wednesday.

Best regards,
Roger

 

About Roger E. Bruner

Roger Bruner worked as a teacher, job counselor, and programmer analyst before retiring to write Christian fiction full-time. A guitarist and songwriter, he is active in his church choir, church praise team, and nursing home ministry. Roger also enjoys reading, web design, mission trips, photography, and spending time with his wonderful wife, Kathleen. Roger’s young adult novels, Found in Translation and Lost in Dreams, came out in 2011. The Devil and Pastor Gus just came out, and he has eight unpublished manuscripts.
This entry was posted in Falling, God's protection, Railing, Stairs, Steps, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

