Eternal Life

God loved the world so much
That He gave His only Son,
So everyone who believes in Him will not die,
But have eternal life.

Christ lived a sinless life;
Yet He died a sinner’s death.
His Father reached into the tomb
And brought Him outside alive again.

I know Christ Jesus lives;
He’s given me new life:
A life of hope and joy and peace
And the promise of eternal life with Him.

God loved the world so much
That He gave His only Son.
Won’t you believe Jesus live and died and rose again
To give you eternal life?
Won’t you believe Jesus live and died and rose again
To give you eternal life?

About This Song:
One of the first songs I ever wrote was about John 3:16-17, which says,

16 For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life. 17 For God did not send His Son into the world to condemn the world, but that the world through Him might be saved. (NKJV)

Although I thought my song was pretty, my tune and the adaptation of the words from the Gospel of John doesn’t fit in with the kind of songs I’ve written more recently.

Yet I felt I ought to have a John 3:16 song in my song bag arsenal. After all, that Scripture is the heart of the Gospel message.

About a month ago I started rethinking how I could reword it, trying to remain true to the intent of Scripture, and set it to a tune more to my liking.

Every song I write is a struggle in its own way, but this one was particularly difficult. I prayed over every change, and the changes kept coming. God may yet “suggest” another change, but–for now–I believe this version is the keeper.

I’d never expected it to have four different emphases. The first stanza refers to John 3:16. The second is the Easter story in a very small nutshell. The third is what I consider my own personal testimony about what being a Christian means to me. And the fourth is an invitation to non-believers to consider the truth about Jesus and become believers, too.

You may view the lead sheet for this song by clicking here and save it without cost. And if you’d like, you may go to the Listen tab on my website and find a recording of “Eternal Life” on the Tascam recordings drop down box. (I did it more slowly than I’d intended.) I hope you enjoy it.

Any comments? I’d love to hear them.

~*~

Links you might be interested in:

I’ll be back again next Wednesday.

Best regards,
Roger

 

About Roger E. Bruner

Roger Bruner worked as a teacher, job counselor, and programmer analyst before retiring to write Christian fiction full-time. A guitarist and songwriter, he is active in his church choir, church praise team, and nursing home ministry. Roger also enjoys reading, web design, mission trips, photography, and spending time with his wonderful wife, Kathleen. Roger’s young adult novels, Found in Translation and Lost in Dreams, came out in 2011. The Devil and Pastor Gus just came out, and he has eight unpublished manuscripts.
This entry was posted in Australia, Children, Dog, Eternal Life, Eternity, God's love, Invitation, John 3:16, Lostness, Missions, Searching, Testimony and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

