Praise the Lord, Oh My Soul!

Praise the Lord; how my heart sings!
Let my whole being praise Him.
Praise the Lord! Praise the Lord!
Praise the Lord, oh my soul!

Bless the Lord; let my life sing
Of His great loving kindness.
Praise the Lord! Praise the Lord!
Praise the Lord, oh my soul!

God forgives me for my sins
And heals all my diseases!
Praise the Lord! Praise the Lord!
Praise the Lord, oh my soul!

Long He’s kept me from the grave;
His love and mercy clothe me!
Praise the Lord! Praise the Lord!
Praise the Lord, oh my soul!

God provides such perfect gifts;
He helps us soar like eagles!
Praise the Lord! Praise the Lord!
Praise the Lord, oh my soul!

About This Song:
I have a lot of favorite songs among the several hundred I’ve written, but this is one of the most fun to sing. If you’re a musician, I highly recommend downloading and/or printing the lead sheet here. Note that the asterisks indicate a single hand clap.

If this song sounds like something from the book of Psalms, you’ve hit the nail on the head. Check out Psalm 103:1-5. . .

1 Praise the Lord, my soul;
all my inmost being, praise his holy name.
2 Praise the Lord, my soul,
and forget not all his benefits—
3 who forgives all your sins
and heals all your diseases,
4 who redeems your life from the pit
and crowns you with love and compassion,
5 who satisfies your desires with good things
so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s.
(NIV)

As usual when I’m writing based on Scripture, the wording is apt to deviate from the Bible. But I try hard to keep the meaning intact.

~*~

Links you might be interested in:

I’ll be back again next Wednesday.

Best regards,
Roger

About Roger E. Bruner

Roger Bruner worked as a teacher, job counselor, and programmer analyst before retiring to write Christian fiction full-time. A guitarist and songwriter, he is active in his church choir, church praise team, and nursing home ministry. Roger also enjoys reading, web design, mission trips, photography, and spending time with his wonderful wife, Kathleen. Roger’s young adult novels, Found in Translation and Lost in Dreams, came out in 2011. The Devil and Pastor Gus just came out, and he has eight unpublished manuscripts.
This entry was posted in David, God's protection, God's Provision, Praise, Psalms and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

