Sharing the Harvest

Who will come and share in the harvest?
Who will work the Master’s fields?
Who will join the angels as they’re singing praise
For each soul the Harvest brings in?

Crops are ripe and ready to harvest;
Who will help to work the fields?
Never has there been so much to harvest
Or to lose if the workers are few.

Crops will die if left where they’re standing;
Who will gather them in time?
Smallest loses cannnot be afforded,
For the Master planted His Son.

Pray the Master call more workers
That the Harvest be complete.
If He calls you, pray with ready answer,
“Here am I, Lord. Send me.”

About This Song:
Virginia Baptists had a mission partnership with the African country of Tanzania during the latter 1980s, and “Sharing The Harvest” was their theme. While I didn’t get to participate in that partnership, the relevance of the theme really struck me.

“Sharing the Harvest” refers to Matthew 9:37-38…
37 Then he said to his disciples, “The harvest is plentiful but the workers are few. 38 Ask the Lord of the harvest, therefore, to send out workers into his harvest field.”
(NIV)

Also to Isaiah 6:8…
8 Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?” And I said, “Here am I. Send me!”
(NIV)

And to Luke 15:7…
7 I tell you that in the same way there will be more rejoicing in heaven over one sinner who repents than over ninety-nine righteous persons who do not need to repent.
(NIV)

My ex-wife and I used to have a vegetable garden. I still remember watching the green beans dying in place because neither of us wanted to go outside in the summer heat and gather them in. What a waste of good food.

But how much worse to let the unsaved people of the world “rot” and go to hell because of our failure to participate in their harvest.

I admit it. I have trouble picturing the billions of people who don’t even know the name of Jesus, much less have a personal relationship with God through faith in His Son. I have a very small circle of influence, and most of the people I know are fellow Believers.

However, I started out years ago committing to pray daily for the spiritual needs of three people I knew or knew about. My nightly prayer now includes fifteen unbelievers, several of whom are family members.

I have virtually no contact with most of the people on my list. Prayer is the MOST I can do to try to assure that they’re included in the Eternal Harvest. I’ve promised God to be faithful in my prayers for these people, even though I’ll probably never find out here on earth whether most of them ever become Christians.

But that is one way for me to say, “Here I am. Send me!”

Are you reaching out to nonbelievers–or are you a nonbeliever someone else is praying for or reaching out to? Either way, I’m praying for you as well.

~*~

Links you might be interested in:

I’ll be back again next Wednesday.

Best regards,
Roger

About Roger E. Bruner

Roger Bruner worked as a teacher, job counselor, and programmer analyst before retiring to write Christian fiction full-time. A guitarist and songwriter, he is active in his church choir, church praise team, and nursing home ministry. Roger also enjoys reading, web design, mission trips, photography, and spending time with his wonderful wife, Kathleen. Roger’s young adult novels, Found in Translation and Lost in Dreams, came out in 2011. The Devil and Pastor Gus just came out, and he has eight unpublished manuscripts.
This entry was posted in Harvest, Tanzania, Virginia, White Fields, Workers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

