I Wish I’d Been Living

I wish I’d been living when Jesus was born.
If I’d been an angel, I’d have joined in their song.
If I’d been a seeker I’d have followed the star.
But I wasn’t born yet, though I follow Him now.

I wasn’t born yet; I couldn’t be there.
Christ died for my life; I’ll live for Him now.

I wish I’d been living when Christ was a kid.
If I’d been His neighbor, He’d have been my best friend.
If I’d been his rabbi, I’d have marveled at all He knew.
But I wasn’t born yet, though He’s my best friend now.

I wasn’t born yet; I couldn’t be there.
Christ died for my life; I’ll live for Him now.

I wish I’d been living when Christ was a man.
If I’d heard His sermons, I’d have savored each word.
If I’d been His disciple, I’d have fished hard for men.
But I wasn’t born yet, though I listen to Him now.

I wasn’t born yet; I couldn’t be there.
Christ died for my life; I’ll live for Him now.

I wish I’d been living when Jesus was killed.
If I’d been His witness, I’d have told how good He was.
I’d have offered Him water when He said, “I thirst.”
But I wasn’t born yet, though I’m His witness now.

I wasn’t born yet; I couldn’t be there.
Christ died for my life; I’ll live for Him now.

I wish I’d been living when Christ rose from death.
If I’d been with the women, I’d have shouted, “Praise the Lord!”
If I’d been with Thomas I’d have said, “Help me believe.”
But I wasn’t born yet, though I believe now.

I wasn’t born yet; I couldn’t be there.
Christ died for my life; I’ll live for Him now.

About This Song:
I’ve written songs about Christmas and Easter. I’ve written several songs that are about  both of those important events. But this song goes  miles further–from Jesus’ birth to His resurrection. Maybe I should write an additional stanza to cover His ascension back into heaven.

This subject is interesting to speculate about. What kind of relationship would we have had with Jesus if we’d been alive 2000 years ago and known Him in person?

Surely we would have recognized Him for who He was and been the most faithful and supportive disciples the world has ever seen. That’s what we’d like to believe, isn’t it?

But–as the song reminds us–we weren’t alive then. We can’t go back in time. We can’t know what He would have meant to us–if anything. So the real issue is what kind of relationship we have with Him now.

  • Is He living through us or do we live as if He’s long dead and gone?
  • Is He our best friend or someone we’re embarrassed to acknowledge we know personally?
  • Is He someone we talk with on a regular basis or someone we turn to only when times are tough?
  • Is He the prime model of how God wants us to live or just an excellent preacher, teacher, and story teller?
  • Is He the only way to God or just one of many?

I can answer those questions for myself, but not for you. Is your relationship with Jesus real?

~*~

Links you might be interested in:

I’ll be back again next Wednesday.

Best regards,
Roger

About Roger E. Bruner

Roger Bruner worked as a teacher, job counselor, and programmer analyst before retiring to write Christian fiction full-time. A guitarist and songwriter, he is active in his church choir, church praise team, and nursing home ministry. Roger also enjoys reading, web design, mission trips, photography, and spending time with his wonderful wife, Kathleen. Roger’s young adult novels, Found in Translation and Lost in Dreams, came out in 2011. The Devil and Pastor Gus just came out, and he has eight unpublished manuscripts.
This entry was posted in Birth, Christmas, Easter, Jesus' birth, Jesus' Death, Jesus' Humanity, Jesus' Teaching, Preaching, Teaching and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

