When I Walk with Him

I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.
Nothing is impossible when I walk with Him.
When I walk with Him, yes, when I walk with Him,
Nothing is impossible when I walk with Him.

Though the night is dark, I know I won’t get lost.
Jesus lights the way ahead when I walk with Him.
When I walk with Him, yes, when I walk with Him,
Jesus lights the way ahead when I walk with Him.

Though the path is steep, I know I won’t fall down.
Jesus takes my hand in His when I walk with Him.
When I walk with Him, yes, when I walk with Him,
Jesus takes my hand in His when I walk with Him.

I am not afraid of what tomorrow brings.
Jesus whispers words of hope when I walk with Him.
When I walk with Him, yes, when I walk with Him,
Jesus whispers words of hope when I walk with Him.

About This Song:
Since I started writing novels eight or ten years ago, I haven’t written very many songs. Maybe one every year or two.

I’ve frequently wanted to write a new song, but it’s not something I can just decide to do. I have to have a God-inspired idea, usually in the form of a first line or two that really grabs me and speaks to my heart.

Sometimes the idea comes while reading the Bible. Other times it comes from a sermon or devotional I’ve heard. And some of those song ideas have simply come out of nowhere–right from God to me, I suppose you might say.

This song, which I wrote just a couple of months ago, started with the Scripture that says, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” A possible tune came to me almost simultaneously, and I was on my way. Or so I thought.

But I didn’t actively work on it anymore, and that’s unusual.

For some reason I started imagining the Little Lambs (youngest children’s choir) at church doing the new song. But it was simpler and had a totally different tune. That’s the version I felt led to finish.

The director of the Little Lambs thought learning all four stanzas would be too much for her youngsters, so we decided to go with three–and have somebody sing one of them as a solo.

So they won’t be using the first stanza–the one the song was originally inspired by. But that’s more of an adult concept, anyhow. But not getting lost, not falling down, and not being afraid are all concepts that kids and adults alike find relevant.

You can listen to a home recording (all four stanzas) HERE. And get a free lead sheet from the dropdown list HERE.

~*~

Links you might be interested in:

I’ll be back again next Wednesday.

Best regards,
Roger

 

About Roger E. Bruner

Roger Bruner worked as a teacher, job counselor, and programmer analyst before retiring to write Christian fiction full-time. A guitarist and songwriter, he is active in his church choir, church praise team, and nursing home ministry. Roger also enjoys reading, web design, mission trips, photography, and spending time with his wonderful wife, Kathleen. Roger’s young adult novels, Found in Translation and Lost in Dreams, came out in 2011. The Devil and Pastor Gus just came out, and he has eight unpublished manuscripts.
This entry was posted in Australia, Children, Dog, God's Leading, Hope, Light, Lostness, Missions, Searching and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

