Not My Will But Yours, Lord

Not my will, but Yours, Lord,
Not my will, but Yours.
Help me want what You want,
When I call on You.

Help me pray like Jesus In Gethsemane.
Not my will, but Yours, Lord;
Not my will, but Yours.

Sometimes when I pray, Lord,
Sometimes when I pray,
I ask things I shouldn’t,
And You answer, “No.”

Help me pray like Jesus In Gethsemane.
Not my will, but Yours, Lord;
Not my will, but Yours.

Often when I pray, Lord,
Often when I pray,
I seek quick solutions,
But You tell me, “Wait.”

Help me pray like Jesus In Gethsemane.
Not my will, but Yours, Lord;
Not my will, but Yours.

I don’t always pray, Lord.
I don’t always pray
Till I find a door locked;
Then I cry to You.

Help me pray like Jesus In Gethsemane.
Not my will, but Yours, Lord;
Not my will, but Yours.

About This Song:
In Jan Karon’s Mitford series, she talks about the prayer God always answers: “Not my will, but Yours.”

That’s the prayer Jesus prayed in the Garden of Gethsemane the night before His crucifixion. He had just asked God to spare Him from the physical, emotional, and spiritual agony He was about to undergo. Yet He recognized that His death was a key part of God the Father’s plan to redeem mankind. So in praying “Not my will, but Yours,” He was acknowledging that He not simply accepted what was coming, but that He wanted it because God Himself wanted it.

Amazing.

It’s easy enough to tell God how we think He ought to answer specific prayers requests. But we lack a God’s-eye-view of the situation. We don’t know His plans. His intentions.

I believe God wants us to be specific in our prayers, however. But once we’ve asked for what we want or think best, we ought to conclude by praying for God’s will to be done, regardless of our personal preferences. And we need to mean it.

I think Jan Karon is right. Whenever we want what God wants, He’ll honor our prayers. Not necessarily doing things our way, but providing answers that best suit His plan for our lives. Could we ask for anything better than that?

Is prayer a normal part of your life? How about sharing a comment about what prayer means to you?

<>

I’ll be back again next Wednesday. If you’d like to receive my posts by email, just go to “Follow Blog via Email” at the bottom right.

I have free lead sheets (chords, notes, & words) for many of my songs. To see which ones and print or download any of them (including today’s), go HERE.

“As I Come Singing” isn’t my only blog. Go HERE to visit “On Aging Gracelessly.”

If you enjoy my writing, you’ll find a number of things to read on my website.  Also music to listen to and music-related videos to watch.

My newest novel, The Devil and Pastor Gus, is available online at Amazon and Barnes & Noble. Go HERE for links to those places.

SmallGusCover

Best regards,
Roger

About Roger E. Bruner

Roger Bruner worked as a teacher, job counselor, and programmer analyst before retiring to write Christian fiction full-time. A guitarist and songwriter, he is active in his church choir, church praise team, and nursing home ministry. Roger also enjoys reading, web design, mission trips, photography, and spending time with his wonderful wife, Kathleen. Roger’s young adult novels, Found in Translation and Lost in Dreams, came out in 2011. The Devil and Pastor Gus just came out, and he has eight unpublished manuscripts.
This entry was posted in Jan Karon, Mitford series, Praying like Jesus and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

