God Keeps His Promises

When we make promises, sometimes we break them
And hurt the people we love the most.
But God’s not like that. He’s always truthful.
He always does the things He says He’ll do.

God keeps His promises; He is so faithful.
We need not worry; He keeps His word.
He is our Father; we are His children.
He always gives us what He knows we need.

About This Song:
Ever since I started writing Christian novels–seven or eight years ago–I probably haven’t averaged one new song a year. I can’t simply set out to write a new song. I need a catchy idea–often a single line–to start with. God shares those with me only periodically.

At my church’s nursing home ministry one Wednesday, Pastor Chadwick presented a devotional about the dependability of God’s promises. One point really got my attention. When people question our word and our truthfulness, it hurts. They’re accusing us of lying.

So how much more it must hurt God when we His children don’t accept His promises without question. We react as if He was lying. Or incapable of keeping His promises. How foolish we are to do that.

He’s proven his dependability time and time again. He’s never let one of us down. He may not always do what we want Him to do, but each of His children knows from personal experience that He truly loves and holds each of us in His hands.

Why should we doubt Him–His intentions or His abilities?

That devotional thought solidified in my mind as “God keeps His promises.” When I first wrote the words, the stanzas were reversed. When I changed the order, I kept the original title. It summed up the whole meaning of the song in those four words.

As you can see from the lyrics, I ended up not dwelling on how we upset God by our failure to take His promises seriously enough, but on the fact He always keeps His word. As opposed to the fact we often fail to.

The melody turned out to be very basic. I often spend weeks trying to work out a tune, but this one came so easily I almost worry whether I’ve accidentally copied something I’ve heard elsewhere but don’t remember or recognize.

God is faithful, though, and I prefer to believe He wanted to bless these lyrics by inspiring the tune and having me offer the completed song to the director of my church’s preschool choir.  You can see a video of their performance (I’m playing guitar almost inaudibly) HERE.

How are you at keeping promises? Do you sometimes break them, no matter how hard you try not to? God forgives us for that.

But we’ll never need to forgive Him for broken promises. He always keeps His word, and I count on that in every part of my life. Do you? If not, you’re missing out on something special.

<>

I’ll be back again next Wednesday. If you’d like to receive my posts by email, just go to “Follow Blog via Email” at the bottom right.

I have free lead sheets (chords, notes, & words) for many of my songs. To see which ones and print or download any of them (including today’s), go HERE.

“As I Come Singing” isn’t my only blog. Go HERE to visit “On Aging Gracelessly.”

If you enjoy my writing, you’ll find a number of things to read on my website.  Also music to listen to and music-related videos to watch.

My newest novel, The Devil and Pastor Gus, is available at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Family Christian Stores. Go HERE for links to those places.

SmallGusCover

Best regards,
Roger

About Roger E. Bruner

Roger Bruner worked as a teacher, job counselor, and programmer analyst before retiring to write Christian fiction full-time. A guitarist and songwriter, he is active in his church choir, church praise team, and nursing home ministry. Roger also enjoys reading, web design, mission trips, photography, and spending time with his wonderful wife, Kathleen. Roger’s young adult novels, Found in Translation and Lost in Dreams, came out in 2011. The Devil and Pastor Gus just came out, and he has eight unpublished manuscripts.
This entry was posted in God's Faithfulness, Promises and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

