Our Father in Heaven

Our Father in Heaven,
Holy is Your name.
May Your kingdom come on earth,
May Your will be done
On earth as it is in Heaven.

Give us this day our daily bread.
Forgive us our wrongs as we forgive.
Lord, keep us back from temptation’s door,
And keep up safe from the evil one.

Our Father in Heaven,
Holy is Your name.
May Your kingdom come on earth,
May Your will be done
On earth as it is in Heaven.

About This Song:
Only rarely do I abandon the earlier version of a song for a total rewrite, but I wrote my first set of lyrics for this song at least as far back as the 1980s. I wrote the newer version in 2001.  I didn’t change the words much on the italicized part of the lyrics, which I use  as the refrain. Overall, the most significant difference between the two versions is the mention of “the evil one” in the newer one.

To say the least, I didn’t want to change the wording any more from Scripture than I felt necessary. No way I could improve on the way Jesus prayed this prayer.

At the same time, He gave us this prayer as a model. Not necessarily something to be used as is. So perhaps wording it my way is one way of following the model.

You can find a recording of this song on the Listen/Home Recordings page of my website.

<>

I’ll be back again next Wednesday. If you’d like to receive my posts by email, just go to “Follow Blog via Email” at the bottom right.

I have free lead sheets (chords, notes, & words) for many of my songs. To see which ones and print or download any of them (including today’s), go HERE.

“As I Come Singing” isn’t my only blog. Go HERE to visit “On Aging Gracelessly.”

If you enjoy my writing, you’ll find a number of things to read on my website.  Also music to listen to and music-related videos to watch.

My new novel, The Devil and Pastor Gus, is out now. If you’re interested, please check it out at Amazon.

SmallGusCover

Best regards,
Roger

 

 

About Roger E. Bruner

Roger Bruner worked as a teacher, job counselor, and programmer analyst before retiring to write Christian fiction full-time. A guitarist and songwriter, he is active in his church choir, church praise team, and nursing home ministry. Roger also enjoys reading, web design, mission trips, photography, and spending time with his wonderful wife, Kathleen. Roger’s young adult novels, Found in Translation and Lost in Dreams, came out in 2011. The Devil and Pastor Gus just came out, and he has eight unpublished manuscripts.
This entry was posted in As I Come Singing, Lord's Prayer, Model Prayer, Roger E. Bruner and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

