All Those Who Love the Lord

Come and listen, all who love the Lord;
Let me tell you what He’s done for me:
I cried out to the Lord for help,
And I praised Him with my song.

Come and listen, all who know the Lord,
And I will tell you what He’s done for me:
I cried out to the Lord for His help,
And I praised Him with my song.

If I had refused to repent of my sins,
God would have turned His face from me.
But, in His love, He’s forgiven each one,
And He’s listened to my prayer.

Come and listen, all who love the Lord;
Let me tell you what He’s done for me:
I cried out to the Lord for help,
And I praised Him with my song.

Come and listen, all who know the Lord,
And I will tell you what He’s done for me:
I cried out to the Lord for His help,
And I praised Him with my song.
And I praised Him with my song.
And I praised Him with my song.

About this Song:
This song from nearly twenty-five years ago is quite special. Psalm 66:16-19 had drawn my interest. I’d already begun writing a song based on these words:

16 Come and hear, all you who fear God;
let me tell you what he has done for me.
17 I cried out to him with my mouth;
his praise was on my tongue.
18 If I had cherished sin in my heart,
the Lord would not have listened;
19 but God has surely listened
and has heard my prayer.

But then I learned about the death of the adult son of a coworker. His name was also Roger.

Although he had grown up in the best of Christian families, he had strayed far from the Lord as an adult. Only when dying–apparently of AIDS–did he come home both to his parents and the Lord he had served faithfully years earlier as a teen.

I never met Roger, but his mom said he was a fantastic musician, and he shared his faith with everyone who would listen–up to the very end.

I looked at these three verses from Psalm 66 with fresh eyes. If anything told Roger’s story, it was that passage.

So this song is dedicated to the memory of Roger Koss. You may listen to it at my website under the dropdown box of home recordings on the Listen page.

If this song says something special to you, please leave a comment.

<>

I’ll be back again next Wednesday. If you want to receive my posts by email, please fill out the form at the top right.

On my website, I have a number of free lead sheets (words, music, chords), including today’s song. Check out the list HERE.

I have a second blog, On Aging Gracelessly. Check it out HERE.

By the way, I have a new novel coming out on November 25, The Devil & Pastor Gus. Check it out on Amazon.

Roger

About Roger E. Bruner

Roger Bruner worked as a teacher, job counselor, and programmer analyst before retiring to write Christian fiction full-time. A guitarist and songwriter, he is active in his church choir, church praise team, and nursing home ministry. Roger also enjoys reading, web design, mission trips, photography, and spending time with his wonderful wife, Kathleen. Roger’s young adult novels, Found in Translation and Lost in Dreams, came out in 2011. The Devil and Pastor Gus just came out, and he has eight unpublished manuscripts.
This entry was posted in Love, Prayer, Repentance and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

