Greater Than All

Your questions fall like a hard rain,
And your problems rush like a flood.
Your faith is stuck in the mud of despair,
And your sunshine is tainted with clouds.

But remember that Somebody loves you,
Someone Who has lived here before,
Someone Who is greater than questions and doubts,
Someone Who is greater than all.

The mountains you want to conquer
Are taller than you think you can climb,
And the valley you’re walking through right now
Seems to keep leading you down.

But remember that Somebody loves you,
Someone Who has lived here before,
Someone Who is greater than mountains and depths,
Someone Who is greater than all,
Greater than all.

About this Song:
When I shared “The First & Second Mile Blues” with you, I mentioned that I had written two songs on a visit to my (then) in-laws in 1979. Here’s the other one.

My former brother-in-law was a teen then, and he was experiencing some significant problems. I’m not sure anyone told me what, but that didn’t matter. I felt compelled to write this song of assurance for him.

This has long been one of my favorites. Probably because it seems more poetic than many of my other songs.

The first stanza follows a logical progression: from rain to flood to mud. And even the clouds (where else would the rain come from?) enhance the symbolism of the problems being addressed. The refrain, which differs slightly from stanza to stanza, echoes the ideas expressed in the stanza it follows.

The second stanza uses a contrast rather than a logical progression: mountains and valleys. People often use mountains to symbolize a goal or something desirable. Think about mountaintop experiences.

But I’ll bet our American forefathers didn’t view the mountains that blocked their westward travel as anything but problems to overcome.

And even though valleys symbolize peacefulness, normal life, or even home, I suspect that our forefathers felt quite differently when looking upward at the next mountain from the depths of the current valley.

And so I imagined my brother-in-law felt as he faced his seemingly insurmountable problems at that time.

One thing I’ve always found interesting about this song is the fact that the “Someone Who. . .” clearly means Jesus, even though the song never references Him by name. But that’s okay. This song was written to a Christian who understood that.

You might be interested in knowing that my former mother-in-law made a printing plate of some kind from a copy of this song. I no longer know exactly what it would have been used for, but she had framed it, and it still has a place of honor on my music room wall.

Please leave a comment if this song has spoken to you.

<>

If you’re a reader, you might be interested in my new book, The Devil and Pastor Gus, which comes out on November 25. It’s available for pre-order at Amazon.

I’ll be back again on Wednesday. If you’d like to receive my posts by email, just go to “Follow Blog via Email” at the bottom right.

I have free lead sheets (chords, notes, & words) for many of my songs. To see which ones and print or download any of them (not including today’s), GO HERE.

“As I Come Singing” isn’t my only blog. If you’d like to see “On Aging Gracelessly,” CHECK IT OUT HERE.

Best regards,
Roger

About Roger E. Bruner

Roger Bruner worked as a teacher, job counselor, and programmer analyst before retiring to write Christian fiction full-time. A guitarist and songwriter, he is active in his church choir, church praise team, and nursing home ministry. Roger also enjoys reading, web design, mission trips, photography, and spending time with his wonderful wife, Kathleen. Roger’s young adult novels, Found in Translation and Lost in Dreams, came out in 2011. The Devil and Pastor Gus just came out, and he has eight unpublished manuscripts.
This entry was posted in Greatness, Mountains, Mud, Rain, Uncategorized, Valleys and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Greater Than All

  1. Forgiveness produces superior effectiveness ranges.
    E-mastering – Singing from the exact hymn sheet. Wherever do by yourself need toward
    be considered a winner.

Leave a Reply

