We’ve Been Travelin’

We’ve been travelin’ all over this land
From the flat land country to the mountains grand,
From the humdrum of the city to the wildness of the sea.
O blessed land where we all are free.

We hear folks singing with all their might;
We hear them singing of freedom’s fight:
The worth of human life and the lives that have been lost-
The price of freedom, high is the cost.

We’ve been travelin’;
We’ve been praying
That by God’s grace,
We may remain forever free.

About this Song:
I  reached WAY back in my notebook of songs for this one…the first song I ever wrote. Also my only patriotic song.

The words speak for themselves, but let me share a little background.

I wrote this song–probably in 1963 as a high school junior. I had started playing guitar less than a year before, and I was playing around with the chords to “Greensleeves.” In the key of Em, most people would play a progression of Em-D-C-B7. But I switched the sequence to Em-D-B7-C, and that–as Robert Frost has said–made all the difference.

I don’t recall anything about the process of writing the words.

At that time, I belonged to a folk trio of guys from church. The Flatlanders (appropriate for people living in Norfolk, VA) consisted of Will Robertson, Bobby Hetherington, and–of course–me. We all played guitar and sang and just generally enjoyed ourselves. I’m sure I was a little shy about sharing my song with them, but they loved it and chose to use it as our theme song. No telling how many times we sang it.

Once I graduated from high school and moved to western Maryland–far away from the Flatlanders–I was forced into becoming a soloist. “We’ve Been Travelin'” didn’t quite fit with “I,” so I ignored it for a number of years.

Then around 1971 I wrote a musical drama called Escape Velocity. “We’ve Been Travelin'” fit in perfectly–but not with the folk sound it had during the 1960s. So I changed it to a major key and turned it from 4/4 time to 6/8. Those changes affected the melody, of course.

A year or two  back I sang the original version at my church’s weekly nursing home ministry–the first time I’d done it publicly since Flatlander days. I’ve added a recording of that performance to the Listen page of my website. Go to the Voice & Guitar 1 drop down box to find “We’ve Been Travelin’.”

<>

Please leave a comment if something in this post has spoken to you. I’ll be back again on Wednesday. If you’d like to receive my posts by email, just go to “Follow Blog via Email” at the bottom right.

I have free lead sheets (chords, notes, & words) for many of my songs. To see which ones and print or download any of them (including today’s), GO HERE.

“As I Come Singing” isn’t my only blog. If you’d like to see “On Aging Gracelessly,” CHECK IT OUT HERE.

Best regards,
Roger

 

About Roger E. Bruner

Roger Bruner worked as a teacher, job counselor, and programmer analyst before retiring to write Christian fiction full-time. A guitarist and songwriter, he is active in his church choir, church praise team, and nursing home ministry. Roger also enjoys reading, web design, mission trips, photography, and spending time with his wonderful wife, Kathleen. Roger’s young adult novels, Found in Translation and Lost in Dreams, came out in 2011. The Devil and Pastor Gus just came out, and he has eight unpublished manuscripts.
This entry was posted in Flatlanders, Patriotism, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

