Psalm 40 (Part Four)

At the assembling of Your people together, Lord,
I will sing glad songs of salvation.
Good news like that cannot be kept a secret;
I’ll not be silent till everyone knows that
You are the giver of eternal life.
You are all faithfulness,
You are all loyalty,
You are all love.

At the assembling of Your people together, Lord,
I will sing glad songs of salvation.
Good news like that cannot be kept a secret;
I’ll not be silent till everyone knows
You are the Lord of everlasting life;
Your faithfulness keeps me safe,
Your loyalty keeps me sure,
Your love makes me strong.

About this Song:
Today we look at the last of my songs from the first eleven verse of Psalm 40. I was working from the Good News Translation:

9  In the assembly of all your people, Lord,
      I told the good news that you save us.
      You know that I will never stop telling it.
10 I have not kept the news of salvation to myself;
      I have always spoken of your faithfulness and help.
   In the assembly of all your people I have not been silent
      about your loyalty and constant love.
11 Lord, I know you will never stop being merciful to me.
      Your love and loyalty will always keep me safe.

One thing you’ve probably noticed is that although I tried to capture the truth of the Scripture, I elaborated on the Psalm much more in this song than in the other three. Something else you may have noticed is the treatment of verse 11, which is different from what you might have expected. Instead of putting that verse into its own set of lines, I worked faithfulness, love, and loyalty into each of the two stanzas. I didn’t specifically say anything about mercy, but I think it’s implied.

The last four lines in the second stanza parallel those in the first stanza:
1.
You are the giver of eternal life.
2.
You are the Lord of everlasting life;

1.
You are all faithfulness,
2.
Your faithfulness keeps me safe,

1.
You are all loyalty,
2.
Your loyalty keeps me sure,

1.
You are all love.
2.
Your love makes me strong.

You’ll find very early recordings of these four songs on my website. GO HERE and look under the drop down box for “Home Recordings.”

<>

Please leave a comment if something in this post has spoken to you. I’ll be back again on Wednesday. If you’d like to receive my posts by email, just go to “Follow Blog via Email” at the bottom right.

I have free lead sheets (chords, notes, & words) for many of my songs. To see which ones and print or download any of them (not including today’s), GO HERE.

“As I Come Singing” isn’t my only blog. If you’d like to see “On Aging Gracelessly,” CHECK IT OUT HERE.

Best regards,
Roger

 

About Roger E. Bruner

Roger Bruner worked as a teacher, job counselor, and programmer analyst before retiring to write Christian fiction full-time. A guitarist and songwriter, he is active in his church choir, church praise team, and nursing home ministry. Roger also enjoys reading, web design, mission trips, photography, and spending time with his wonderful wife, Kathleen. Roger’s young adult novels, Found in Translation and Lost in Dreams, came out in 2011. The Devil and Pastor Gus just came out, and he has eight unpublished manuscripts.
This entry was posted in As I Come Singing, Psalm 139 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

