Me: Outside/Inside (w/Monologue Seven)

[from the 1974 pop musical, Song of Plenty]

Monologue Seven:

GIRL (continuing letter). . .

God IS a God of plenty! He filled me with his complete presence. I rushed to the front of the room ad collapsed at the speaker’s feet in tears. One by one, my new friends came to me and put their arms around me. They were crying, too! They were happy–for me.

I glanced up at the cross out of mist-filled eyes and. . .no! it can’t be. . .I imagined I was two people. One was nailed to that cross, dead. The other had been lifed up to God’s side and was safely enveloped in love and peace.

Then I looked at my friends, and I told them that the old “me” was dead now. With God’s help, the real “me” could live and start to grow.

Song:

Look at the outer me I wear for public display.
See the side that seems to show the sum of all my good.
Me that’s got and got looks so full
And me that’s fancy looks so happy,
But me that’s complex can’t tell that
It’s not the real me I see.

Look inside at the me I keep hidden.
See the side that seems to show how small and empty I am.
Stripped of my outer self
So I can see what God knows is me:
Rough and simple and in need of love’s complete refining.

About this Song:
This song is the honest confession of someone who recognizes that the life she’s been living on the outside may appear great to other people. But in reality it’s empty and small. The singer acknowledges that only God can remake her from the inside out, and she’s not just willing–but desirous–of having Him do that.

Do you need God’s help in becoming real, too?

Check my website to listen to this song and come back again next Wednesday for the next monologue and song in Song of Plenty.

<>

Please leave a comment if something in this post has spoken to you. I’ll be back again on Wednesday. If you’d like to receive my posts by email, just go to “Follow Blog via Email” at the bottom right.

“As I Come Singing” isn’t my only blog. If you’d like to see “On Aging Gracelessly,” check it out here.

Best regards,
Roger

About Roger E. Bruner

Roger Bruner worked as a teacher, job counselor, and programmer analyst before retiring to write Christian fiction full-time. A guitarist and songwriter, he is active in his church choir, church praise team, and nursing home ministry. Roger also enjoys reading, web design, mission trips, photography, and spending time with his wonderful wife, Kathleen. Roger’s young adult novels, Found in Translation and Lost in Dreams, came out in 2011. The Devil and Pastor Gus just came out, and he has eight unpublished manuscripts.
This entry was posted in Song of Plenty, Transformation, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

