A Lamb Out of Every Crisis (w/Monologue 3)

Monologue Three:
GIRL (continuing letter). . .

As she talked, I felt the excitement in me growing. Mom and Dad, a fleeting thought of you and home ran through my mind. But I quickly grew nervous. . .restless. Things weren’t right in me, and I knew it.

It must have shown. I don’t know how or why, but this new friend–oh! did she know me already–said, ‘Nothing but the love of Jesus can give you the peace you seek.’

Song:
God makes a lamb out of every crisis in your life
When you let Him become the keeper of your heart.
It is God who puts to pasture every care and worry.

God makes a lamb out of every crisis in your life
When you let Him become the keeper of your heart.

About this Song:
Although the lyrics for “A Lamb Out of Every Crisis” are barely longer than the song title, it’s one of my favorites. It gives me a calming effect similar to Jesus’ calming the storm at sea with “Peace! Be still.” Somehow, it also makes me imagine God as a lion tamer who converts a ferocious beast into a cat tame enough to make into a house pet.

At some point in the early 1970s, a close in-law left home unexpectedly, and no one knew where she had gone. Because she was at least eighteen, it wasn’t legally a matter of running away from home. And yet that’s what she’d done.

She ended up going to New York City (from the midwest) and staying a few days before returning home. I don’t remember any of the specifics, and I wouldn’t want to embarrass her about something that happened forty years ago, but her search for. . .whatever was the inspiration for this song.

Coming next Wednesday: Monologue Four and the song “My Story Mystery.”

<>

Please leave a comment if something in this post has spoken to you. If you’d like to receive my posts by email, just go to “Follow Blog via Email” at the bottom right.

“As I Come Singing” isn’t my only blog. If you’d like to see “On Aging Gracelessly,” check it out here.

Best regards,
Roger

About Roger E. Bruner

Roger Bruner worked as a teacher, job counselor, and programmer analyst before retiring to write Christian fiction full-time. A guitarist and songwriter, he is active in his church choir, church praise team, and nursing home ministry. Roger also enjoys reading, web design, mission trips, photography, and spending time with his wonderful wife, Kathleen. Roger’s young adult novels, Found in Translation and Lost in Dreams, came out in 2011. The Devil and Pastor Gus just came out, and he has eight unpublished manuscripts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

