Our King, Triumphant

Come listen, friends and strangers, too;
You’ll never guess what’s happening!
That Jesus fellow’s coming into town.

You know just the one I mean;
He resurrected Lazarus.
That very man is riding up the street.

The crowds are so excited now;
They think he’s our Messiah!
Let’s go and see this new king for ourselves!

You know what the Scriptures say:
There’s nothing to be scared of.
Our king will come upon a donkey’s colt.

The cheers are getting closer now;
Let’s gather up palm branches
And praise the Lord for sending us a king!

Something tells me such a day
Will never be forgotten:
Our King Triumphant, riding into town!

About This Song:
In 1993, when I was still working at the International Mission Board of the Southern Baptist Convention, I was asked if I wanted to share an Easter song at the IMB’s pre-Easter chapel service.

Since I’m eager to share my music anywhere I can, I jumped at the invitation and began working on a new song. Although I recorded an accompaniment to use with it–regrettably, it wasn’t as good as the ones I’m able to record now–the song was well received, and I use it as often as I can around Easter.

I play guitar in my church’s nursing home ministry and do one solo each week. On the Wednesday before Palm Sunday, I always do “Our King, Triumphant.” I don’t know if the residents recognize it from year to year, but the other folks on our ministry team seem to enjoy the annual repeats.

I didn’t write it out this way above, but the first two lines of each stanza are sung three times before the third line is sung.

The song is based on John 12:9ff, but also makes reference to Zechariah 9:9. . .          Rejoice greatly, Daughter Zion! Shout, Daughter Jerusalem! See, your king comes to you, righteous and victorious, lowly and riding on a donkey, on a colt, the foal of a donkey.

Note that the narrator of the song changes between the second and third stanzas. Someone first alerts the people close to him that Jesus is coming. Since word of Jesus’ raising Lazarus from the dead had probably made the rounds and was still fresh on people’s minds, that proves a good way for the first narrator to identify who Jesus is.

Then the rest of the song shows someone else’s reaction to the announcement. He or she listens first with interest (perhaps even a little skepticism), but gradually gets caught up in the excitement of the event. Even more important, however, he recognizes that Jesus’ triumphal entry into Jerusalem on Palm Sunday will probably have special significance for years to come.

I’ve used some of the lyrics from this song in Misfits, one of my yet-unpublished Young Adult novels.

<>

Please leave a comment if something in this post has spoken to you. I’ll be back again next Wednesday. If you’d like to receive my posts by email, just go to the top right of this page where it says, “Follow Blog via Email.”

Free lead sheets (tune, words, and chords) are available for many of them. Check here to see the list. A lead sheet for this song is here.

I have another blog, “On Aging Gracelessly.” If you’re interested, please check it out here.

Best regards,
Roger

 

 

About Roger E. Bruner

Roger Bruner worked as a teacher, job counselor, and programmer analyst before retiring to write Christian fiction full-time. A guitarist and songwriter, he is active in his church choir, church praise team, and nursing home ministry. Roger also enjoys reading, web design, mission trips, photography, and spending time with his wonderful wife, Kathleen. Roger’s young adult novels, Found in Translation and Lost in Dreams, came out in 2011. The Devil and Pastor Gus just came out, and he has eight unpublished manuscripts.
This entry was posted in Easter, Palm Sunday, Triumphal Entry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

