No Song Is Unworthy

No song is unworthy to be sung to the Lord
If God lives within you, making your life sing for Him.
Sing for Him, sing for Him, sing for Him.

No tune is less than beautiful to sing to the Lord
If your life’s in tune with what God wants your life to be.
Wants you to be, wants you to be, wants you to be.

No rhythm is unsteady to be sung to the Lord
If your life’s in rhythm with God’s heartbeat of love.
Heartbeat of love, heartbeat of love, heartbeat of love.

No words are less than poetry to sing to the Lord
If your life sings of the Word who is making your life sing.
Making you sing, making you sing, making you sing for Him.

About this Song:
A number of years ago, I was feeling rather down about my singing and songwriting, and I wrote this song to convince myself that what I was doing was important to God, even if it didn’t matter to anyone else.

I wrote a harmony part for it and have done duets with various people on mission trips overseas (everywhere from Wales to Australia) as well as locally with my wife. I’ve also enjoyed doing private duets with such (much better) singers as Janet Roller, Angela Hunt, and Jane Herlong. Incidentally, Jane was so gracious she emailed me to thank me for letting her sing it with me.

Note the logical progression of the lyrics. It goes from “song”–the song as a whole–to the various components: tune, rhythm, and words. I always consider words to be the most important part of a song. Because of that fact, perhaps the fact that I have a blog like this shouldn’t surprise you.

The version of this song on the Listen tab at my website (look in the drop-down box for “Home Recordings”) has me doing both parts. I don’t normally do it quite that slowly, and it’s really hard to blend with myself. About this recording, perhaps I should simply say that “No recording is unworthy if it’s the best I can do without someone else’s help.”

A free lead sheet is available here. A list of all of my lead sheets can be found here.

Come back again next Wednesday for another set of song lyrics. If you prefer, you may sign up to receive these posts by email.

Roger

About Roger E. Bruner

Roger Bruner worked as a teacher, job counselor, and programmer analyst before retiring to write Christian fiction full-time. A guitarist and songwriter, he is active in his church choir, church praise team, and nursing home ministry. Roger also enjoys reading, web design, mission trips, photography, and spending time with his wonderful wife, Kathleen. Roger’s young adult novels, Found in Translation and Lost in Dreams, came out in 2011. The Devil and Pastor Gus just came out, and he has eight unpublished manuscripts.
This entry was posted in Rhythm, Songs, Tune, Words, Worth and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

