Days, Hours, Moments

I could spend my days
Just singing songs of praise
Unto the Lord who’s set me free.
I could spend each hour
Just singing of His power
And of the love that’s lifted me.
I could spend each moment
Singing of my atonement
And the hope Christ Jesus brings.
I could spend my time
Making songs in rhyme
For the Lord of whom I sing.

About this song:
I’m not sure what inspired this song originally, but it turned out to be an exercise in rhyming. You’ll notice that the ending words of each pair of sentences rhyme: “free” and “me”; “brings” and “sing”.

But there are also internal rhymes within each sentence: “days” and “praise”; “hour” and “power”; “moment” and “atonement”; and “time” and “rhyme”.

So the reference to “making songs in rhyme” is actually about writing this song.

The line about “And of the love that’s lifted me” should bring back memories of the old hymn, “Love Lifted Me.”

Believe it or not, I really struggled with the atonement line. Should it be “my atonement” because I’m talking about God making me “at one” with Him? Or should it be “His atonement” because He’s the one who’s done it? I’m still not totally sure, but I don’t think God will punish me if I made the wrong choice.

I purposely started with the longest period of time–days–and then worked my way down to the shorter time spans, days and then moments.

To listen to this sing, go to the Read/Listen tab of my website (http://www.rogerbruner.com/ReadListen.shtml), scroll down to the dropdown box of available songs, and select “Days, Hours, Minutes.” You may get a free lead sheet for it here.

I’ll be back with another song next Wednesday. Incidentally, I have another blog you might want to check out: On Aging Gracelessly.

Roger

About Roger E. Bruner

Roger Bruner worked as a teacher, job counselor, and programmer analyst before retiring to write Christian fiction full-time. A guitarist and songwriter, he is active in his church choir, church praise team, and nursing home ministry. Roger also enjoys reading, web design, mission trips, photography, and spending time with his wonderful wife, Kathleen. Roger’s young adult novels, Found in Translation and Lost in Dreams, came out in 2011. The Devil and Pastor Gus just came out, and he has eight unpublished manuscripts.
This entry was posted in Days, Hours, Moments, Praise, Singing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

