As I Come Singing

As I come singing, I sing to praise the Lord;
With a song in my heart, I come to proclaim God’s Word,
To proclaim God’s Word. La, la la la la.
The melody may seem compelling as the rhythm moves right along,
But if my life’s not full of God’s love, then the message will come out wrong,
Will come out wrong. La, la la la la.

As I come singing, I sing to preach God’s Word
To each believer and to those who have never heard,
Who’ve never heard.
The song itself is simple, and the words used are quite plain,
But if my life’s not in tune with my song, then the message will come out vain,
Will come out vain. La, la la la la.

As I come singing, I sing to praise the Lord;
May the song that my life sings be the one that He wants heard,
That God wants heard.
La, la la la la. La, la la la la. La la.

About this song:
During the days when I was presenting musical programs more frequently than now, I used this song as my theme song. I wanted to emphasize my role as a preacher of sorts–a conveyor of God’s Good News–and to help people realize that I wasn’t singing to entertain them.

I believe that so strongly that–to this day–I have trouble using the word “perform” in regard to doing a Christian song in public. “Present” works a little better, but “perform” definitely doesn’t preach!

You can tell that this is one of my older songs because it rhymes. Although a few of my most recent songs rhyme, most of them don’t.

You can find a free lead sheet for this song (tune, chords, & lyrics) on my website. Check here for all of my free lead sheets.

Stay tuned. I’ll post another song lyric next Sunday.

Best regards,
Roger

About Roger E. Bruner

Roger Bruner worked as a teacher, job counselor, and programmer analyst before retiring to write Christian fiction full-time. A guitarist and songwriter, he is active in his church choir, church praise team, and nursing home ministry. Roger also enjoys reading, web design, mission trips, photography, and spending time with his wonderful wife, Kathleen. Roger’s young adult novels, Found in Translation and Lost in Dreams, came out in 2011. The Devil and Pastor Gus just came out, and he has eight unpublished manuscripts.
This entry was posted in Good News, Preaching, Singing, Songs, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

