What Eyes Can See?

What eyes can see?
What ears can hear?
Who can imagine all the
Good God has for us?

No eyes can see,
No ears can hear,
No one can imagine all the
Good God has for us.

About This Song:
“What Eyes Can See?” sounds almost too simple to call a song rather than a chorus. And perhaps it is.

But Isaiah 64:4 inspired it, and that at least gives it some validity. The Good News Translation says,

No one has ever seen or heard of a God like you, who does such deeds for those who put their hope in him.

and the Contemporary English Version says,

You are the only God ever seen or heard of who works miracles for his followers.

I like what The Message says:

Since before time began no one has ever imagined, no ear heard, no eye seen, a God like you who works for those who wait for him.

I honestly have no idea what translation I adapted my wording from, but the verse–and consequently my song–says something I believe strongly in.

God is unlimited in the perfect gifts He desires to give His children. If I can’t begin to comprehend the vastness of His attributes, how can I pretend to imagine all He’s able to do for each and every one of us?

I can’t even explain why He chose to spare my life when I was in the eighth grade, in a coma with acute viral encephalitis. But He did. He could have left me in a vegetative state when He brought me out of it, though, but He didn’t. I’m as normal as I could ever hope to be.

Has He done something special in your life–something inexplicably wonderful? Could you have imagined that He would ever do something like that?

You can find a free PDF lead sheet (chords, melody, & lyrics) for this song on my website. Check here for all available lead sheets. And don’t forget to check the archives for other songs that might be similar in theme to this one.

Please come back again on Wednesday for another song. Better yet, subscribe to receive each week’s two posts by email.

Best regards,
Roger

About Roger E. Bruner

Roger Bruner worked as a teacher, job counselor, and programmer analyst before retiring to write Christian fiction full-time. A guitarist and songwriter, he is active in his church choir, church praise team, and nursing home ministry. Roger also enjoys reading, web design, mission trips, photography, and spending time with his wonderful wife, Kathleen. Roger’s young adult novels, Found in Translation and Lost in Dreams, came out in 2011. The Devil and Pastor Gus just came out, and he has eight unpublished manuscripts.
This entry was posted in Ears, Eyes, God's goodness, Imagine, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

