Listen for the Still, Small Voice

If you have come to hear me sing
With a beautiful voice,
Then I’m afraid you may be a bit disappointed,
For this is the voice I’ve got.

Listen for the still, small voice.
Listen for the still, small voice instead.

If you have come to hear me play
With a modern flair,
Then I’m afraid you may be a bit disappointed,
For this is the way I play.

Listen for the still, small voice.
Listen for the still, small voice instead.

If you have come to hear to my songs
Done in a professional way,
Then I’m afraid you may be a bit disappointed,
For this is the way they are.

Listen for the still, small voice.
Listen for the still, small voice instead.

About This Song:
I named this blog after a song I used to use as my opening song whenever I presented programs. You may see “As I Come Singing” here.

I’ve never felt all that confident about my singing, and nowadays I can feel the effects of age on my playing, too. I’d like to believe the songs themselves are getting better, though.

But I ended up writing and using “Listen for the Still, Small Voice” as an introductory song sometimes, too. I didn’t feel like I was apologizing for my performances as much as I was simply trying to place the emphasis where it belonged–listening to the Holy Spirit of God give special meaning to my songs.

Do you allow the Holy Spirit to give the songs you listen to special meaning–or do you only listen to songs that have very little value?

You can find a free PDF lead sheet (chords, melody, & lyrics) for this song on my website. Check here for all available lead sheets. And don’t forget to check the archives for other songs that might be similar in theme to this one.

Please come back again on Wednesday for another song. Better yet, subscribe to receive each week’s two posts by email.

Best regards,
Roger

You can find a free PDF lead sheet (chords, melody, & lyrics) for this song on my website. Check here for all available lead sheets. And don’t forget to check the archives for other songs that might be similar in theme to this one.

Please come back again on Wednesday for another song. Better yet, subscribe to receive each week’s two posts by email.

Best regards,
Roger

About Roger E. Bruner

Roger Bruner worked as a teacher, job counselor, and programmer analyst before retiring to write Christian fiction full-time. A guitarist and songwriter, he is active in his church choir, church praise team, and nursing home ministry. Roger also enjoys reading, web design, mission trips, photography, and spending time with his wonderful wife, Kathleen. Roger’s young adult novels, Found in Translation and Lost in Dreams, came out in 2011. The Devil and Pastor Gus just came out, and he has eight unpublished manuscripts.
This entry was posted in God's Voice, Holy Spirit and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

