One Word from Him

The grass will soon wither,
And the flowers will soon fade;
So the strongest of men will soon weaken and die.

Only the Word of the Lord lasts forever;
And one Word from Him gives us eternal life.
One Word from Him gives us eternal life.

About This Song:
Just a few days ago, we looked at “The Word of God,” which was inspired by Isaiah 55:10-11. “One Word from Him” is another Word-related song that also comes from the book of Isaiah:

Isaiah 40:6-8…
6 A voice says, “Cry out.”
    And I said, “What shall I cry?”

“All people are like grass,
    and all their faithfulness is like the flowers of the field.
7 The grass withers and the flowers fall,
    because the breath of the Lord blows on them.
    Surely the people are grass.
8 The grass withers and the flowers fall,
    but the word of our God endures forever.”
(NIV)

At seventy-seven,  I’m no longer middle-aged; I have little hope of surviving to the age of 154. And I have no idea how long I will live–and remain healthy enough to enjoy life.

But as I look at the pill bottles on the breakfast counter–the cholesterol, blood pressure, thyroid, and blood sugar medicines keep all of the numbers looking good–I’m also aware that I’m a blade of grass and a flower. My time to wither and fail is coming. It’s inevitable.

Gracious! Like any of you–no matter what your age–I may not have much time left on earth. None of us knows for sure, though, do we?

But do I find that depressing?

I’m smiling as I respond to that question. My confidence is in the never-failing “word of our God”; He has promised more abudant life on earth–and He’s certaily lived up to that promise–and He’s promised eternal life with Him in Heaven for us as believers.

So no matter how much I enjoy my earthly life–no matter how long I hope I have left–my hope for the future is in the Lord.

I hope yours is, too.

A PDF lead sheet for this song is available on my website.  Check here for all available lead sheets.

Please come back again on Sunday to see what song I’ll talk about next. Better yet, subscribe to receive each week’s two posts by email.

Best regards,
Roger

About Roger E. Bruner

Roger Bruner worked as a teacher, job counselor, and programmer analyst before retiring to write Christian fiction full-time. A guitarist and songwriter, he is active in his church choir, church praise team, and nursing home ministry. Roger also enjoys reading, web design, mission trips, photography, and spending time with his wonderful wife, Kathleen. Roger’s young adult novels, Found in Translation and Lost in Dreams, came out in 2011. The Devil and Pastor Gus just came out, and he has eight unpublished manuscripts.
This entry was posted in Flowers, God's Word(s), Grass and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

