You Alone, O Lord

You Alone, O Lord

You alone, O Lord, are my rock and my refuge;
You alone, O Lord, can shelter me beneath Your wings.
You alone, O Lord, can stretch Your hands to protect me,
And make all my foes cringe before Your feet.

You alone, O Lord, are my shield and defender;
You alone, O Lord, can break the power of evil men.
You alone, O Lord, can put an end to their terror
And punish them for all their wicked ways.

When I lie down, I sleep in peace,
For in You alone I am secure, O Lord.
In You alone I am secure.

You alone, O Lord, are my shield and defender;
You alone, O Lord, can break the power of evil men.
You alone, O Lord, can put an end to their terror
And punish them for all their wicked ways.

About this song:
I was preparing to post another song today when I looked at the date. September 11.

I felt God’s Holy Spirit asking me to re-post these lyrics from March of last year. I’ve added an additional stanza since then and edited a few of my comments from the original post.

In January of 1991, the United States–the whole free world, actually–was on pins and needles waiting to see whether Iraq would respond to demands to withdraw from its forceful occupation of Kuwait. The United Nations had set January 15th as the deadline for Iraq to comply.

I’m sure I wasn’t the only person wondering and perhaps worrying about the possibility of our becoming involved in war in the Middle East.

But rather than continue to worry, I sat down in the living room with my Bible and started searching the Psalms for verses of reassurance. I came up with a number of them, but these were the most meaningful:

I will lie down and sleep in peace, for you alone, O Lord, make me dwell in safety. (Psalm 4:8)

He is a shield to all who take refuge in him. (Psalm 18:30b)

Break the arm of the wicked and evil man; call him to account for his wickedness that would not be found out. (Psalm 30:15)

You defend orphans and everyone else in need, so that no one on earth can terrify others again. (Psalm 30:18)

The next day, Operation Desert Storm began.

Even though Desert Storm has long since passed, terrorism–or at least the threat of it–seems to be a constant in modern life.

But God’s power and love and protection are an even greater constant. That realization brings the kind of peace nothing else can bring.

I hope you find that kind of peace under God’s wing as well.

While I have a free lead sheet for this song, I’m away from my regular computer and don’t have access to it. I’ll post the link at the end of the week. In the meantime, you can find my other free lead sheets here.

If you found today’s post to be meaningful, please come back again on Sunday to see what song I’ll post then. Better yet, sign up to receive these posts by email.

Best regards,
Roger

About these ads O

About Roger E. Bruner

Roger Bruner worked as a teacher, job counselor, and programmer analyst before retiring to write Christian fiction full-time. A guitarist and songwriter, he is active in his church choir, church praise team, and nursing home ministry. Roger also enjoys reading, web design, mission trips, photography, and spending time with his wonderful wife, Kathleen. Roger’s young adult novels, Found in Translation and Lost in Dreams, came out in 2011. The Devil and Pastor Gus just came out, and he has eight unpublished manuscripts.
This entry was posted in Desert Storm, God's protection, Psalms, Terror, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

