A Special Rain

God’s Words are like the rain and snow
That fall to water the earth–
So seeds can be planted and crops be grown
To yield an abundance of food.

God’s Words fall as a special rain
On dry and thirsty hearts–
And where the seeds of God’s love take root,
Amazing new life appears.

About This Song:
This past Sunday we looked at “God’s Special Mirror,” and today we look at “A Special Rain,” which is based on Isaiah 55:10-11…

10 As the rain and the snow
    come down from heaven,
and do not return to it
    without watering the earth
and making it bud and flourish,
    so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater,
11 so is my word that goes out from my mouth:
    It will not return to me empty,
but will accomplish what I desire
    and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.
(NIV)

“God’s Special Rain” is another of many Scripture-based songs where my lyrics don’t come close to capturing the beauty of the verses that inspire them.

But do you see something in the Scripture that I failed to include in my lyrics? I do.

I didn’t notice until long years after thinking I’d completed this song that I’d ignored the part about God’s Word not returning to Him empty; “void” is probably a more familiar wording.

Overlooking that totally changed–or at least weakened–my interpretation of the Scripture. The fact is that the sharing of God’s Word produces results. Maybe not immediately.  But eventually.

My wife and I have shared God’s Good News–His Word– with some people who’re very special to us. People we’ve been praying for for years. Does that mean that their salvation is assured?

Whoops! Now I’m trying to put my own spin on the Bible. If I read the Scripture passage correctly, the fulfillment of God’s Word depends on His specific purpose. His purpose is often quite different from ours.

I think Kathleen and I need to keep praying for these people. But also to pray for God’s will–His purpose–to be carried out.

Three years ago, I started to rewrite this song. The new version will be called “God’s Words” or something similar to that. Be on the lookout for it.

A PDF lead sheet for this song is not currently available. I’ll share one when I finish the new version.

Check here for all available lead sheets.

Please come back again on Sunday to see what song I’ll talk about next. Better yet, subscribe to receive each week’s two posts by email.

Best regards,
Roger

About Roger E. Bruner

Roger Bruner worked as a teacher, job counselor, and programmer analyst before retiring to write Christian fiction full-time. A guitarist and songwriter, he is active in his church choir, church praise team, and nursing home ministry. Roger also enjoys reading, web design, mission trips, photography, and spending time with his wonderful wife, Kathleen. Roger’s young adult novels, Found in Translation and Lost in Dreams, came out in 2011. The Devil and Pastor Gus just came out, and he has eight unpublished manuscripts.
This entry was posted in God's Word(s), Rain, Snow, Water and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

